May 27, 2015

Board of Directors

Seth Green|Founder and Board Chair

Seth is the founder and board chair of Americans for Informed Democracy (AIDemocracy). Seth Green is the executive director of Youth Organizations Umbrella (Y.O.U.), a non-profit in Illinois that works to ensure every young person has the opportunity to succeed.Click here for full bio

Karen Showalter | Co-Chair

Karen is the former Executive Director of Americans for Informed Democracy. She brings extensive experience building networks for social change, both in the US and abroad. She previously managed Oxfam International’s Health and Education For All campaign in Mali, West Africa, where she supported the advocacy work of national organizations and founded the “Espace de Plaidoyer” activist network. Click here for full bio. Email Karen Showalter.

Lynne Steuerle Schofield| Vice Chair

Lynne is a co-founder of Our Voices Together, an organization that merged with Americans for Informed Democracy in 2008. Lynne holds a Ph.D. in statistics and public policy from Carnegie Mellon University and a B.A in mathematics from Swarthmore College. Click here for full bio

Patricia Langan|Treasurer

Patricia Langan currently serves as Managing Director of Unity Productions Foundation, a non-profit that promotes peace through the media. UPF makes documentaries broadcast on PBS that help Americans better understand Muslims and Islam. Click here for full bio

Sarah Bush|Secretary

Sarah is a Ph.D. candidate in International Relations in the Department of Politics at Princeton University. She has worked in the past with AID as its Co-Executive Director during the 2005-2006 academic year. Her previous experience also includes work for the US State Department, St. Louis City Mayor’s Office and Teach for America. Click here for full bio

Veronica Canton

Veronica Canton is a Marketing Director and a co-founder of Friends of El Shadai, a non-profit organization and champion of the One World Children’s Fund (OWFC). Click here for full bio

Eric Gardner

Eric Gardner is the Data Analysis Advisor and Admissions Officer at the Georgetown Public Policy Institute where he was a colleague of Leslie Whittington, who was killed on American Airlines Flight 77. His brother, Jeffrey Brian Gardner was killed at the World Trade Center on 9/11. Click here for full bio

Tim Ruckh

Tim is currently a postdoctoral research fellow at Massachusetts General Hospital in the Martinos Center for Biomedical Imaging. He began working with AID after studying in Lancaster, UK in the Fall of 2004 and then attending an AID summit in Berlin in December 2004. He started an AID chapter at Colorado State University in 2005, earning AID’s Young Leader award that year, and served as chapter president until 2007. Click here for full bio

Zeeshan Suhail

Zeeshan is a board member for both Americans for Informed Democracy and the Muslim Consultative Network. He was an active member of student government at his undergraduate school, Queens College-CUNY, where he was the first Pakistani and the first Muslim to be elected Vice President in the 35 years of student government history. Zeeshan has appeared on CNN and his work has been published in Q-News (Britain), The World Scholar (New York), Pakistan Post (New York) and The Nation (Pakistan). Click here for full bio

David Devlin-Foltz

Since 1999, David Devlin-Foltz has directed efforts to strengthen advocacy on global issues by commissioning and helping organizations to apply tools for effective message framing, planning and evaluation. Click here for full bio

Mariam Asmar

Mariam Asmar is the Manager of Social Media and Promotions at Time Warner Cable. Mariam joined Time Warner Cable after graduating from Georgetown University’s Walsh School of Foreign Service in 2008. Click here for full bio

Robert T. Coonrod

Robert T. Coonrod is President and CEO of InterMedia (, a research-based consultancy with offices in London and in Washington D.C. Coonrod also serves on the Board of the Public Diplomacy Council, and he is a former member of the Defense Science Board Taskforce on Strategic Communication. Click here for full bio